Jenni Rivera Lives on in “I Love Jenni” Tribute Marathon on mun2

Jenni.500

I Love Jenni Marathon – Dec. 9 at 6am EST/5am CST; I Love Jenni – Best of Dec. 10pmEST/9pm

By Bel Hernandez

For audiences that only became aware of Jenni Rivera after her passing last year, here is the opportunity to get to know why fans loved her.  And for her fans, here is a chance to relive some of the moment in her life she shared with the world.  mun2, will remember Jenni Rivera with a all-day programming tribute blocks on Monday, December 9 beginning at 6 a.m. EST/5 a.m. CST, over 30 hours of Jenni Rivera programming.  Included will be a new I Love Jenni: Best Of special at 10 p.m. EST/9 p.m. CST, featuring new footage with the family and never-before seen footage from her namesake series I Love Jenni.

I Love Jenni was the first breakout English-language reality show and it extended Jenni’s brand to English-language audiences.  Jenni, a Mexican American, Latin Grammy winner singer-songwriter and entrepreneur known for her work within the banda and norteña music genres. She brought along millions of her fans to mun2 while adding television producer to her long list of titles.  Branching out as an actress, Jenni had shot the independent film Filly Brown in 2011 (released in 2013 after her death) and had announced the ABC TV pilot deal she had just signed based on her life.  Not since Selena has a Latina been poised to make the complete crossover into “mainstream”, only to have her life cut short.

The final season of I Love Jenni will run in its entirety on December 9. This season shows Rivera from the fall of 2012 through her final concert in Monterrey.  The series continued shooting after Jenni’s death with the focus shifting to her family, her children Chiquis, Jacqie, Mikey, Jenicka and Johnny, as well as sister Rosie and brother Juan, as they continued with their lives. The series is the most watched Hispanic celebrity reality series on any cable network this year.

The I Love Jenni: Best Of will include footage of the family discussing their favorite moments from the show as well as topics from the reasons behind the various nicknames Jenni gave family. Shot at the Rivera’s home, it offers a snapshot into the family’s life away from Jenni’s onstage spotlight including.

Concurrent with the airings, the network will also host a live, on-air Twitter event beginning at 2 p.m. EST/1 p.m. CST with fans and viewers encouraged to tweet messages through #ILoveJenni and @mun2 that will appear on the network during that time.

Season three, the final season, had the highest season average for any original program on mun2, reaching a total of 5.5 million people across all of its telecasts.  In 2013 the series has had over eight million video streams on mun2.tv, and over one million VOD (video on demand) views.

For more info:  I Love Jenni