Canal 22 Internacional Celebrates Veracruz

veracruzCanal 22 Internacional’s January Programming Celebrates Veracruz: A Mosaic Of Music, Rhythm & Flavor

Mexico, DF– This January, Canal 22 Internacional, the arts and entertainment channel, is celebrating the state of Veracruz, a land of ancient traditions and customs, known as a mosaic of music, rhythm and flavor.  Audiences will enjoy the sounds of the regional folk musical style of Son Jarocho, the joy of its carnival, the warmth of its people, the smell of the vanilla and coffee grown locally and the taste of Veracruz’ unique and delicious cuisine.

On Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays at 9pm ET/6pm PT, audiences will learn of Veracruz’ gastronomy by touring its communities and meeting its people, who share the history and ingredients of some of the region’s most flavorful dishes during a new season of Veracruz a la carta. Among the cities visited are Xalapa, Tuxpan, Emiliano Zapata, Boca del Río, Coatzacoalcos, among others. Then, at 1:30am ET/10:30pm PT, viewers can travel through the magical land of Veracruz, discovering its traditions and music through Tesoros de Veracruz. 

On Tuesdays and Wednesdays at 7pm ET/4pm PT, Perfiles brings together the biggest stars from Veracruz´s artistic and cultural venues in an informal conversation between friends, sharing memories of the past.  This is followed at 1am ET/10pm PT by La dulce lengua. In this series, viewers will come to know, through interviews and brief recaps, of the origins of native towns, clothing, crafts, poetry and food as well as the 14 distinct surviving native dialects that add to the cultural richness of Veracruz.  

On Sundays at 7:30pm ET/4:30pm PT, Visión Periférica presents a series of documentaries, hosted by award-winning Mexican journalist Jacaranda Correa.

Pilar Rioja de cuerpo entero, from director Jorge Prior, airs on Sunday, January 13.  Produced in 2007, the documentary tells of the life and work of prominent Mexican dancer Pilar Rioja, a Spanish flamenco dancing icon in Mexico. The prestigious dancer, choreographer and teacher continues to captivate national and international audiences, going further to push the boundaries of technique and repetitive movements to maximize her sensitivity and emotions.  Rioja has shown that flamenco is more than technical, stiff poses or footwork, but instead is a dance of raw emotion, where femininity, sensuality and elegance pour out. She remains a star because unlike other dancers who flaunt technical ability, she has magic and energy that captivates the audience.

On January 20, the subtitled version of director Jaime Kuri and Claudio Isaac’s Carlos Fuentes, en esto también creo (Mexico 2006)based on Carlos Fuentes’ book En Esto creo (2002), brings to life the ideas and inner thoughts of the prominent writer.

Director Guillermo Piñón’s Rivelino, las raíces de una arte/Tras Rivelino (Mexico 2012) premiers on January 27. Tras Rivelino portrays two central themes: the birth, and dismantling of public intervention Raíces and a closer look at the sculptor Rivelino.  Taking place in the town ofSan José, the sculptor’s birthplace is the starting point of the route that reveals the artist’s tastes, obsessions, dreams and challenges.  On January 18th, 2012, Rivelino launched a contemporary art project entitled Raíces, one of the most representative displays of Mexico City, aiming to account for the nation’s history and origins.  For 60 minutes, the artist speaks of how the idea for Raíces came to him as well as how the work evolved, how many people participated in the transport and assembly, the days it took to finish, and the planning and logistics that were needed for this project. Tras Rivelino has been presented in the Artes.Docs festival and will be screened in the Morelia Cinema Festival for a special exhibition.

On January 23 at 10:30pm ET/7:30pm PT, the season finale of Arquitecturas Mexicanas del siglo XXI airs, showing viewers the value and richness of contemporary Mexican architecture, through the panoramic view of the work of various authors.

On January 31, at 9pm ET/6pm PT, it’s the season finale of Historias sabrosas (with an encore airing on February 1 at 5pm ET/2pm PT).  Ana, the woman who has shown us the history of Tlaxcala through its cuisine, culminates her adventures.

And, as always, Noticias 22 delivers the news and culture of Mexico week nights at 8pm ET/5pm PT.

For more information, please visit www.canal22internacional.org.mx. Facebook: Canal México 22 internacional Email: internacional@canal22.org.mx