2013 Writers Guild Awards

New Media and Videogame Nominees Announced

WGA Logo

Los Angeles and New York The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and the Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) have announced nominations for outstanding achievement in writing for new media and videogames during 2012.  Winners will be honored at the 2013 Writers Guild Awards on Sunday, February 17, 2013, at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York.

Outstanding Achievement In Writing Original New Media

“The Compromises, Episode 1,” “The Pest, Episode 3,” The Snake, Episode 4,” “The Bonding, Episode 6,” “The Future, Episode 7/Series Finale” (Jack in a Box), Written by Michael Cyril Creightonjackinaboxsite.com

“Episode 1, The Report,” “Episode 2, The Third Man,” “Episode 3, The Suck” (Lauren), Written by Jay Rodanyoutube.com/wigs

“Assistants, Episode 104,” “Photo Shoot, Episode 105,” “Ten Per Cent, Episode 106,” “Hashtags, Episode 107,” “The Contract, Episode 108” (Model Wife), Written by Cory Cavin, Bill G. Grandberg Josh Laymodelwifeshow.com

“Babyshower,” “Stendhal Syndrome,” “A Very Important Call,” “Think,” “Emma” (The Untitled Webseries That Morgan Evans Is Doing), Written byMorgan EvansUntitledWebseries.com

Outstanding Achievement In Writing Derivative New Media

“All in the Family; Chapter 1,”  “All in the Family; Chapter 2,” “All in the Family; Chapter 3,” “All in the Family; Chapter 4,” “All in the Family; Chapter 5” (Dexter Early Cuts), Written by Scott ReynoldsSHO.com

“Hide And Seek,” “Keys to the Kingdom,” “The Chosen Ones,” “Parting Shots” (The Walking Dead: Cold Storage), Written by John Espositoamctv.com

Outstanding Achievement In Videogame Writing

007 Legends, Written By Bruce Feirstein; Activision

Assassin’s Creed III, Story By Alex HutchinsonCorey MayMatt Turner; Multiplayer Story By Richard FarreseJeffrey Yohalem; Lead Scriptwriter Corey May; Scriptwriter Nicholas GrimwoodRussell LeesMatt TurnerDanny WallaceCeri Young; Ubisoft

Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation, Scriptwriting by Richard FarreseJill Murray; Ubisoft

Disney Epic Mickey 2: The Power of Two, Writing Consultant Marv Wolfman; Disney Interactive Studios

Halo 4, Narrative Design Christopher Schlerf; Microsoft Studios

Uncharted: Golden Abyss, Written By John Garvin; Sony Computer Entertainment America

WGA New Media Writing Awards

This is the third year that the Guilds are honoring the craft of new media writing, recognizing writers’ creative contributions to this growing, cutting-edge industry.  To be eligible for WGA Original New Media and Derivative New Media Writing Awards, a stand-alone new media program or episode(s) written for a new media series must have first been exhibited on a new media platform between December 1, 2011 and November 30, 2012.  For WGA awards purposes, a new media platform is defined as the Internet via a major video sharing site or unique URL, mobile devices such as cell phones or PDAs, or any other established new media platform.  Only work that was written and produced under a WGA collective bargaining agreement, and for which the Guild determined writing credits, was eligible.  Preliminary and final judging for the WGA New Media Writing Awards is based strictly on written material and conducted by a panel of Guild members selected for their experience in the genre.

WGA Videogame Writing Awards

Now in its sixth year, the WGA Videogame Writing Award honors the best qualifying script from a videogame published in the previous year.  To be eligible for WGA consideration, games must have been released between December 1, 2011 and November 30, 2012, and feature on-screen writing credit(s).  Credited videogame writers must have been or must have applied to become members of the WGA Videogame Writers Caucus at the time scripts were submitted.  Work that was not produced under WGA jurisdiction was also eligible for submission.  Preliminary and final judging for the WGA Videogame Writing Award is conducted by panels comprised of Videogame Writers Caucus members and/or Writers Guild members active in videogame writing

The Writers Guild Awards honor outstanding writing in film, television, new media, videogames, news, radio and promotional writing, and graphic animation.  The awards will be presented jointly in all competitive categories during simultaneous ceremonies on Sunday, February 17, 2013, in New York at the B.B. King Blues Club and in Los Angeles at the JW Marriott L.A. LIVE.  For more information, please visit www.wga.org orwww.wgaeast.org.

For media inquiries about the 2013 Writers Guild Awards Los Angeles show, please contact Gregg Mitchell in the WGAW Communications Department at: (323) 782-4651 or email: gmitchell@wga.org, or visit online at: www.wga.org

For media inquiries about the 2013 Writers Guild Awards New York show, please contact Jay Strell at Sunshine Sachs at (212) 691-2800 or email: strell@sunshinesachs.com; or visit online at: www.wgaeast.org.

The Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) and Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) are labor unions representing writers in motion pictures, television, cable, digital media, and broadcast news. The Guilds negotiate and administer contracts that protect the creative and economic rights of their members; conduct programs, seminars, and events on issues of interest to writers; and present writers’ views to various bodies of government. For more information on the Writers Guild of America, East, visit www.wgaeast.org. For more information on the Writers Guild of America, West, visit www.wga.org.

Please follow and like us: