WGA Announce Call for Submissions

wga_logo2014 Documentary Screenplay Award

Los Angeles/New York – The Writers Guild of America, West (WGAW) and Writers Guild of America, East (WGAE) today announced that submissions are now open for the 2014 WGA Documentary Screenplay Award, honoring outstanding achievement in documentary feature writing. This year marks the addition of a new eligibility requirement for the award: theatrical documentaries must be produced under the jurisdiction of the WGA or an affiliate Guild to be eligible for consideration.

Submissions for the WGA’s doc writing award may be received from August 19 through November 15, 2013.

WGA Documentary Screenplay nominees, as well as Original and Adapted Screenplay nominees, will be announced on Friday, January 3, 2014. The WGA Documentary Screenplay Award will be presented – along with other film, TV, new media, radio, news, and videogame award categories – at the 2014 Writers Guild Awards to be held on Saturday, February 1, 2014, at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York City.

First presented in 2005, the WGA Documentary Screenplay Award was established to spotlight the writer’s primary role in documentary filmmaking’s creative process, recognize the fact that the majority of non-fiction feature films are written, and spotlight the benefits of working under a Writers Guild contract.

Qualifications for WGA Documentary Screenplay Award eligibility include:

  • Theatrical documentaries must have been written under the WGA’s MBA or under a bona fide collective bargaining agreement of the Writers Guild of Canada, Writers Guild of Great Britain, Irish Playwrights & Screenwriters Guild, New Zealand Writers Guild, La Guilde Francaise des Scénaristes (France), Scriptwriters Guild of Israel, or the Société des Auteurs de Radio, Télévision et Cinéma (Quebec), i.e., “affiliate Guilds.”
  • Documentaries must contain an on-screen writing credit and have been exhibited theatrically in Los Angeles or New York for at least one week during 2013.
  • The deadline for submissions is 5:30 p.m. (PST), Friday, November 15, 2013.
  • Scripts must be feature length (more than 40 minutes).
  • Documentaries that received their first public exhibition via broadcast or cable television are not eligible for WGA awards consideration.
  • Foreign-language films are eligible, provided they feature English-language subtitles.

Further inquiries regarding the WGA Documentary Screenplay Award may be directed to Jennifer Burt in the WGAW Awards Office at (323) 782-4569, email: jburt@wga.org or to Dana Weissman in the WGAE Awards Office at (212) 767-7835, email:dweissman@wgaeast.org.

The Writers Guild Awards honor outstanding writing in film, television, new media, videogames, news, radio, promotional, and graphic animation categories.  The awards will be presented jointly at simultaneous ceremonies on Saturday, February 1, 2014, in Los Angeles at the JW Marriott L.A. LIVE and in New York City at the Edison Ballroom.  For more information, please visit www.wga.orgor www.wgaeast.org.

For more information about the 2014 Writers Guild Awards submission process, guidelines, and official entry forms, please visitwww.wga.org or www.wgaeast.org.

Please follow and like us:

3 thoughts on “WGA Announce Call for Submissions

Comments are closed.