Cinema Tropical Announces Winner of Best Latin American Film


Las Marthas and Purgatorio Tied for Best U.S. Latino Film

New York, NY, —  The Uruguayan film The Militant by Manuel Nieto Zas takes the top award for Best Latin American Film of the Year at the 5th Annual Cinema Tropical Awards presented by the non-profit media arts organization Cinema Tropical earlier today.

Other films noteworthy awards went to the Mexican film Coffee (Chants of Smoke) by Hatuey Viveros was named Best Latin American Documentary Film of the Year, while the Chilean film The Quispe Girls by Sebastián Sepúlveda was awarded with the prize for Best First Film. For the second time, the Cinema Tropical Awards presented a prize for Best U.S. Latino Film Year and the jury decided to give the award to two films: Las Marthas by Cristina Ibarra, and Purgatorio: A Journey into the Heart of the Border by Rodrigo Reyes.

Argentinean filmmaker Gustavo Fontán received the award for Best Director of a Fiction Film for The Face, while filmmakers Camila José Donoso and Nicolas Videlafrom Chile, were the winner of the award for Best Director of a Documentary Film for Naomi Campbel.

Cinema Tropical also announced that New York audiences will have the chance to see the award-winning films as they will be showcased as part of the Cinema Tropical Festival to take place on February 6-8, 2015 at the Museum of the Moving Image.

The winners of this year’s Cinema Tropical Awards were selected by a jury panel composed by Daniela Alatorre, producer, Morelia Film Festival; Gustavo Beck, filmmaker and film programmer; Marcela Goglio, film programmer; Lucila Moctezuma, Executive Producing Director UnionDocs; Tamir Muhammad, Director Content and Artists Development for Time Warner; Rachael Rakes, film programmer; José Rodriguez, Manager, Documentary Programming, Tribeca Film Institute; Bernardo Ruiz, filmmaker; and Naief Yehya, film and culture critic, writer.

The Cinema Tropical AWARDS were created in 2010 to honor excellence in Latin American filmmaking, and it is the only international award entirely dedicated to honoring the artistry of recent Latin American cinema.

Please follow and like us: